Athletics Canada names 2010 Commonwealth Games team

August 4, 2010

Athletics Canada announced a team of 40 athletes today which will compete at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India.  Athletics competition at the Commonwealth Games starts October 6th and will wrap up on the 12th

Commonwealth Games veterans Angela Whyte of Edmonton, AB and Diane Roy from Sherbrooke, QC will lead the team into Delhi.  Whyte won a silver medal in the 100 metre hurdles at the last Games in Australia in 2006 and also attended the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester.  Roy won bronze in the T54 wheelchair 800 metres in 2006.  Whyte and Roy are both medal contenders going into India. 

Another strong medal contender in Delhi will be Kamloops’ Dylan Armstrong in the shot put.  Armstrong is currently the number one ranked shot putter in the Commonwealth and his resume over the past two years is very impressive.  At the Olympic Games in Beijing he was 4th and set a new Canadian Record of 21.04 metres.  A year later (2009) he represented Canada at the World Championships in Berlin.  So far in 2010 he has set two new Canadian records (Indoor 21.39m / Outdoor 21.58m) and was 4th at the World Indoor Championships in Doha.  

“At the Commonwealth Games in Delhi we expect all athletes to perform at their highest level for this year”, comments Head Coach Alex Gardiner. “We are using the Commonwealth Games as an important benchmark for those athletes pursuing selection for the London Olympic Games. Results in Delhi will have a direct bearing on who we provide additional support for in the next two years leading to 2012. All athletes will have to prove readiness in September before we go to India or risk de-selection.”

2010 Commonwealth Games team


Name Event Hometown Coach
Ruky Abdulai Long Jump, 4x400m Coquitlam, BC Jerrold Jones / Brit Townsend
Jamie Adjetey-Nelson Decathlon Windsor, ON Brett Lumley
Dylan Armstrong Shot Put Kamloops, BC Anatoliy Bondarchuk
Bryan Barnett 200m, 4x100m Edmonton, AB Quin Sekulich
Josh Cassidy T54 1500m Guelph, ON Amanda Fader
Tabia Charles Long Jump, Triple Jump Pickering, ON Gregory Portnoy
Jean-Paul Compaore T54 1500m Sherbrooke, QC Jean Laroche
Jared Connaughton 200m, 4x100m New Haven, PEI Monte Stratton
Diane Cummins 800m, 4x400m Victoria, BC Mark Timmons
Carly Dockendorf Pole Vault Port Moody, BC Pat Licari / Les Gramantik
Jillian Drouin High Jump Corunna, ON Joel Skinner
Gabriella Duclos-Lasnier Pole Vault Quebec, QC Francois Thenault
Evan Dunfee 20km Racewalk Richmond, BC Gerry Dragomir
Nicole Edwards 1500m Winnipeg, MB Mike McGuire
Sam Effah 100m, 4x100m Calgary, AB Brenda Van Tighem
Alice Falaiye Long Jump Brampton, ON Wen Yong Yang
Nicole Forrester High Jump Aurora, ON James Henry
Sultana Frizell Hammer Throw Perth, ON Anatoliy Bondarchuk
Inaki Gomez 20km Racewalk Vancouver, BC Gerry Dragomir
Kelsie Hendry Pole Vault Saskatoon, SK Rick & Susanne Petrucha
Michael LeBlanc 4x100m Riverview, NB Dave Hegland
Michael Mason High Jump Nanoose Bay, BC Larry Blaschuk
Taylor Milne 1500m Guelph, ON Dave Scott-Thomas
Carline Muir 400m, 4x400m Edmonton, AB Scott Saunders
Megan Muscat T37 100m St. Thomas, ON Kurt Downes
Amonn Nelson 400m, 4x400m Calgary, AB Branda Van Tighem
Hank Palmer 4x100m Lasalle, QC Daniel St-Hilaire
Kyle Pettey F34 Shot Put Brampton, ON Ken Hall
Adrienne Power 200m, 4x400m Halifax, NS Peter Lord
Megann Rodhe Hammer Throw Kamloops, BC Anatoliy Bondarchuk
Leah Robinson T37 100m Petersburg, ON Bruce Glebe
Diane Roy T54 1500m Sherbrooke, QC Jean Laroche
Crystal Smith Hammer Throw Kamloops, BC Anatoliy Bondarchuk
Oluseyi Smith 4x100m Ottawa, ON Glenroy Gilbert
Hilary Stellingwerff 1500m Sarnia, ON Dave Scott-Thomas / 
Trent Stellingwerff
Vicki Tolton 4x400m Smithers, BC Dave Cusano
Angela Whyte 100m Hurdles Edmonton, AB Wayne Phipps
Megan Wright 5000m Edmonton, AB Sean Cleary
Jason Wurster Pole Vault Toronto, ON Arye Rosenoer
Jessica Zelinka Heptathlon Calgary, AB Les Gramantik

Team Staff and Integrated Support Team

Name Position Hometown
Alex Gardiner Head Coach Winnipeg, MB
Carla Nicholls Team Coach (Jumps / Combined Events) Regina, SK
Les Gramantik Team Coach (Combined Events) Calgary, AB
Christine Laverty Team Coach (Endurance) Calgary, AB
Glenroy Gilbert Team Coach (Sprints / Relays) Ottawa, ON
Molly Killingbeck Team Coach (Sprints / Relays) Toronto, ON
Larry Steinke Team Coach (Throws) Lethbridge, AB
David Greig Team Coach (Para-Athletics) Ottawa, ON
Scott MacDonald Team Manager Nepean, ON
Dana Way Biomechanist / Performance Technology Winnipeg, MB
Wilbour Kelsick Chiropractor Port Moody, BC
Richard Gregory Athletic Therapist Ottawa, ON
Carolyn Daubeny Massage Therapist Vancouver, BC

At the last Commonwealth Games (Melbourne, Australia – 2006) the track and field team came away with 13 medals including 2 gold, 7 silver and 4 bronze. 

For more information visit