2013 Canadian Tire Interior Road Race Series complete

IRAThis year the Canadian Tire Interior Road Race Series expanded back to an 11 race format, starting back in February at the Starting Block 10K, and wrapping up with the Peak to Beak 18K in Kelowna. 75 individuals contested the minimum of 5 races required to qualify for series awards, with a maximum of seven races counting towards an individuals points total. John Wilson, Randy Werger, Stephen Joyce, Melvin Doherty, Keith Burton, Vanessa McLean, and Susan Templin all ran every race. For Doherty this was his 20th consecutive year of accomplishing this feat, representing over 235 Interior Series races without absence.

Series age groups winners were:

F30-34  Delilah Topic
F35-39  Erica Malerby
F40-44  Marie-Josee Bedard
F45-49  Lisa Spalding
F50-54  Deb Lougheed
F55-59  Lynda Proce
F60-64  Susan Templin
F65-69  Diane Leonard
F70-74  Liz Borrett

M20-29  Wade Carlson
M30-34  Timothy Mundall
M35-39  Hans Aabye
M40-44  Richard Dueck
M45-49  Sergio Pio
M50-54  Randy Werger
M55-59  Tim Purcer
M60-64  Bruce Wark
M65-69  Bill Faulkner
M70-74  Bill Stephens
M75-79  Bruce Butcher

In addition, the Series age-grades the results of each race, and maintains age-graded standings. Liz Borrett, who lost out because she didn’t run enough races to win last year, made no mistake this time as she convincingly relegated last year’s champion Diane Leonard to second, with Lynda Proce third. On the mens side, Sergio Pio did just enough in the final race to successfully defend his title, edging runner-up Hans Aabye by a single point. Randy Werger completing the podium.

Complete Series standings can be found on the Interior Running Association website: http://www.interiorrunningassociation.com/

Next up for athletes in the Interior is the Starting Block Cross Country Series, which gets underway on September 29, at Campbell Mountain near Penticton.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: