BC Athletics Announces 2012 BC Junior Team – Updated 7/25/12


BC Athletics is pleased to announce those athletes selected to the 2012 BC Junior Team that will represent BC Athletics at the 2012 Canadian Junior Track & Field Championships held in Winnipeg, MB fromn July 27-29, 2012.  This year, BC Athletics will be sending a full team of 30 athletes.  They are as follows:


*Name – event (Coach, Club, Hometown)

Spencer Allen – M PV (Ryan Jensen, Kamloops TFC, Kamloops)

Katrina Allison – W 3000m (Chris Johnson, Vancouver Thunderbirds, Vancouver)

Benjamin Ayesu-Attah – M 400m (Tara Self, Coquitlam Cheetahs, Coquitlam)

Nick Blackburn – M 400mH (John May, Comox Valley Cougars, Comox)

Deon Clifford – M 3000mSC (Lynn Kanuka, Ocean AC, White Rock)

Benjamin Daly-Grafstein – DEC (James Buhlman, Vancouver Thunderbirds, Vancouver)

Danielle Delage – HEP (Ron Parker, Pacifc Athletics, Victoria)

Timothy Delcourt – M 1500m (Scott Kent, Coastal TC, Surrey)

Joel DeSchiffart – M 3000m SC (Al Johnston, Nanaimo TFC, Nanaimo)

Nicolas Fyffe – M TJ (Byron Jack, Kajaks TFC, Vancouver)

Nathaniel George – M 400m (Tara Self, Coquitlam Cheetahs, Coquitlam)

Thomas Getty – M 800m/1500m (Keith Butler, Vike TC, Victoria)

Christian Gravel – M 1500m (Chris Johnson, Vancouver Thunderbirds, Vancouver)

Katelyn Hayward – W 2000mSC (Keith Butler, Vikes TC, Victoria)

Keefer Joyce – M 100m/200m (Brandt Fralick, Unattached, Kelowna)

Adam Keenan – M HT (Dr. Anatoliy Bondarchuk, Kamloops TFC, Victoria)

Samantha Kennedy – W HT (Richard Collier, Kajaks TFC, Surrey)

Mason Kereszti – M JT (Sheldan Gmitroski, Pacific Athletics, Victoria)

Bashir Khan – M HJ (James Buhlman, Vancouver Thunderbirds, Vancouver)

James Linde – M 200m (Tara Self, Coquitlam Cheetahs, Coquitlam)

Keffri Neal – M 800m (Bryan Onstad, Kajaks TFC, Surrey)

Peggy Noel – W 1500m (Lynn Kanuka, Ocean AC, Tsawassen)

Adam Osborne – M PV (Kim Chapdelaine, Langley Mustangs, Langley)

Jacob Powrie – DEC (James Buhlman, Vancouver Thunderbirds)

Patrick Psotka – M 3000mSC (Keith Butler, Vikes TC, Victoria)

Ryan Sommer – M DT (Larry Steinke, Chinook TFC, White Rock)

Kala Stone – W 1500m (Bruno Mazzotta, Kamloops TFC, Kamloops)

Matthew Swanson – M 800m (Robert Leone, NorWesters TFC, North Vancouver)

Katherine Tourigny – W 400mH/100mH (Besnik & Tatjana Mece, VOC, Vancouver)

James Turner – DEC (Pat Sima-Ledding & Laurier Primeau, Okanagan AC, Kelowna)

Devan Wiebe – W 800m (Marek Jedrzejek, Point Grey TC, Vancouver)


Ron Parker – Head Coach/Jumps/Combined Events (Pacific Athletics, Victoria)

Nick Stoffberg – Sprints & Hurdles Coach (Langley Mustangs, Surrey)

Sue Northey – Distance Coach (Valley Royals TFC, Sardis)

Sheldan Gmitroski – Throws Coach (Pacific Athletics, Victoria)

Chris Johnson – Team Manager (Vancouver Thunderbirds, Vancouver)

Jennifer Schutz – Canada Summer Games Mentor Coach (Unattached, Vancouver)

Nikki Reiter – Canada Summer Games Apprentice Coach (Okanagan AC, Kelowna)

** Abbreviations (TFC = Track & Field Club/TC = Track Club/AC = Athletics Club/VOC = Vancouver Olympic Club)

Earlier this season 2 members of the BC Junior Team competed in the Canadian Junior Racewalk Championships held in Calgary, AB on June 30, 2012.  In the women’s 10Km race, Katelynn Ramage of Nanimo (Nanaimo TFC) won the junior women’s title in a time of 56:48.5h.  In the men’s 10Km race, Benjamin Thorne of Kitimat (Racewalk West) won the men’s junior title in a time of 40:26.0h.

Congratulations to those athletes who have made the team, and to both of our Canadian Junior Racewalk Champions!

-BC Athletics

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

%d bloggers like this: