Canadian Olympic Trials – CBC – Live Streaming and Broadcast Schedule

 Olympic and Paralympic hopefuls ready for action at  

Canadian Track and Field Trials

CALGARY – Ten Olympic and Paralympic hopefuls were on hand today at Foothills Athletic Park in Calgary, Alta to officially kick off the 2012 Canadian Track and Field Trials. Josh Cassidy of Oakville, Ont., Earle Connor of Calgary, Alta., Sam Effah of Calgary, Alta., Perdita Felicien of Pickering, Ont., Phylicia George of Markham, Ont., Nikkita Holder of Pickering, Ont., Priscilla Lopes-Schliep of Whitby, Ont., Brianne Theisen of Humboldt, Sask., Justyn Warner of Markham, Ont., and Jessica Zelinka of London, Ont., talked about the upcoming four days of competition which determine who earns the right to don the maple leaf at the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games in London, England.

2008 Olympic Games bronze medalist Priscilla Lopes-Schliep, “I’m very excited to be competing for a chance to represent Canada at the Olympic Games, to be part of these championships means a lot to me and the field is by far the strongest our country has had in a very long time.  I am hoping as a group we can continue to influence and motivate more Canadians to get involved in athletics as we continue our strong presence on the international stage.” Lopes-Schliep adds, “I wish my competitors all the best but come race time I am here to win.”

2008 Paralympic Games gold medalist Earle Connor comments on the Track and Field Trials taking place in his hometown of Calgary, “Having the opportunity to qualify for another Paralympic Games on my home track is a surreal feeling. The journey to bring back to Calgary, and Canada, a third Paralympic Gold medal begins in a place where I call home, that is such an amazing and motivating feeling.”

To earn a spot on the Olympic team athletes must meet the required time standards for their event and finish top three at Trials. 28 athletes already met their respective time standard and will now be gunning for that podium finish to punch their ticket to London.

Paralympic nomination is determined by a seven step process based on a quota system administered by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). The IPC has allocated 20 quota spots for Canada’s track and field entry plus a relay slot for each of the visually impaired 4×100-metres and wheelchair 4×400-metres. Follow this link ( to get the full picture on where athletes stand in the Olympic and Paralympic nomination process.

Olympic hopefuls having met required standard

Name Hometown Event Final*
Mohammed Ahmed St. Catherines, ON 10000m June 26 – 7:15pm
Dylan Armstrong Kamloops, BC Shot put June 30 – 12:15pm
Melissa Bishop Eganville, ON 800m June 30 – 3:10pm
Nathan Brannen Cambridge, ON 1500m June 29 – 2:25pm
Jared Connaughton New Haven, PEI 200m June 30 – 3:40pm
Derek Drouin Corunna, ON High jump June 30 – 1:30pm
Perdita Felicien Pickering, ON 100mH June 30 – 3:50pm
Sultana Frizell Perth, ON Hammer throw June 30 – 12:00pm
Alex Genest Lac-aux-Sables, QC 3000m SC June 30 – 1:00pm
Phylicia George Markham, ON 100m


June 29 – 7:10pm

June 30 – 3:50pm

Elizabeth Gleadle Vancouver, BC Javelin June 29 – 5:00pm
Inaki Gomez Vancouver, BC Race walk June 30 – 8:00am
Julie Labonté Sainte-Justine, QC Shot put June 30 – 2:30pm
Cameron Levins Black Creek, BC 5000m


June 29 – 7:55pm
Priscilla Lopes-Schliep Whitby, ON 100mH June 30 – 3:50pm
Michael Mason Nanoose Bay, BC High jump June 30 – 1:30pm
Kelsie Hendry Saskatoon, SK Pole vault June 30 – 12:00pm
Nikkita Holder Pickering, ON 100mH June 30 – 3:50pm
Justin Rodhe Kamloops, BC Shot put June 30 – 12:15pm
Rachel Seaman Peterborough, ON Race walk June 30 – 8:00am
Nicole Sifuentes Winnipeg, MB 1500m June 29 – 1:20pm
Jessica Smith North Vancouver, BC 800m June 30 – 3:10pm
Heather Steacy Lethbridge, AB Hammer throw June 30 – 12:00pm
Jim Steacy Lethbridge, AB Hammer throw June 30 – 2:30pm
Hilary Stellingwerff Sarnia, ON 1500m June 29 – 1:20pm
Brianne Theisen Humboldt, SK Heptathlon June 27 / 28
Angela Whyte Edmonton, AB 100mH June 30 – 3:50pm
Jessica Zelinka London, ON Heptathlon


June 27 / 28

June 30 – 3:50pm

Paralympic hopefuls identified in steps 2 and 3

Rachael Burrows Barrie, ON T34 200m June 29 – 6:20pm
Christy Campbell Kitchener, ON T34 100m June 27 – 1:50pm
Josh Cassidy Ottawa, ON T54 marathon** June 27 – 6:15pm (800m)

June 30 – 2:55pm (1500m)

June 28 – 7:55pm (5000m)

Earle Connor Calgary, AB T42 100m June 29 – 2:10pm
Nathan Dewitt Surrey, BC T34 200m June 28 – 5:40pm
Jason Dunkerley Ottawa, ON T11 1500m June 27 – 1:10pm
Michel Filteau St. Jean Baptiste, QC T54 marathon**
Kiera Frie Saskatoon, SK T54 5000m June 28 – 7:40pm
Brent Lakatos Dorval, QC T53 200m June 29 – 6:30pm
Virginia McLachlan Windsor, ON T35 200m June 29 – 6:20pm
Kyle Pettey Brampton, ON F34 shot put June 28 – 6:00pm
Eddy Solla Chilliwack, BC T34 200m June 29 – 6:30pm
Michelle Stilwell Nanoose Bay, BC T52 100m June 27 – 1:50pm
Leah Robinson Petersburg, ON T37 400m June 28 – 6:40pm
Diane Roy Sherbrooke, QC T54 400m

T54 marathon**

June 30 – 12:30pm (400m)

June 28 – 5:30pm (800m)

June 27 – 6:00pm (1500m)

June 28 – 7:40pm (5000m)

Curtis Thom Mississauga, ON T54 400m June 28 – 5:40pm

*All times in local Mountain Time
**The wheelchair marathon event is not contested at the Track and Field Trials   

Olympic and Paralympic nomination

What better way to celebrate Canada Day then to welcome Athletics Canada’s nominations to the Olympic and Paralympic Games team. The nominations take place July 1 as part of a special breakfast announcement at the University of Calgary’s Dining Centre beginning at 9am.

Countdown to Calgary: previews the Olympic Trials

Trials LIVE on CBC and

You can catch the 2012 Track and Field Trials live streaming on on Friday June 29 from 5:30pm – 7:30pm local time (7:30pm – 9:30pm ET) and live on television Saturday June 30 from 2:00pm – 4:00pm local (4:00 – 6:00pm ET).


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: