Sooke 10K

The eighth and last race in the Frontrunners Island Race Series – Sooke 10K – took place Sunday, April 15. The race, which was hosted by the Island Road Racers Club, had 352 finishers. The race was followed by the year-end awards for the entire series.

In the men’s race Joel Deschiffart (Bastion Running Club) won in 33:28, second was Shawn Nelson (Frontrunners Athletic Club) in 34:09, and third was Jorge Para in 34:33. Para was also the top male master.

The top female was Julie Van Veelen (Prairie Inn Harriers) in 39:09, second was Sarah Daitch (Aspire Running) in 40:14, and third was Isabelle Fillion (Frontrunners Athletic Club) in 40:18. Deborah Epps (Bastion Running Club) was the top female master finishing in 43:03.

“We have been organizing the Sooke 10k for 11 years and although we are a small club we have great volunteers who come out and help,” said Ken Chew, Race Director. “It’s nice to host a rural race outside of Victoria and to have such great support.”

The Frontrunners Green Jersey for the fastest male sprinter over the last 100-metres was won by Byron Trajan in the open category (14.30) and Walter Cantwell in the masters category (14:32). Jennifer Mickelson won the female open in 17:35 and Kimberley Dray the masters in 19 seconds.

Full gun time results from the Sooke 10k are on


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: