Eyes on the Prize: Sprints, Jumps let Langley’s TWU-bound Dolfo find his wings

By Howard Tsumura, The Province

Braedon Dolfo has never worried about the 95 per cent vision he doesn’t have.

Instead, the Langley Secondary senior is using the five per cent he does have, along with a huge heart, to charge head-on towards a potential spot on the Canadian team which will compete in 2012 Paralympic Games later this summer in London.

And after that, despite his visual impairment, Dolfo is set to begin his university career in the fall as a member of the able-bodied track and field team at his hometown Trinity Western University.

“I would describe (my vision) as looking through a straw,” says Dolfo, who will test his best against the rest of the Canada West conference next season. “There is no peripheral vision. It’s all just dead centre. But my parents never held me back from anything. I started out by trying everything from gymnastics, to soccer, to my first love which is basketball. But I just decided that track was the easiest because it was just me and the track. It was a sport where I didn’t have a ball flying at my face all the time.”

Working with Langley Mustangs coach Kim Chapdelaine brought out the best in Dolfo.

Read more: http://blogs.theprovince.com/2012/05/01/eyes-on-the-prize-sprints-jumps-let-langleys-twu-bound-dolfo-find-his-wings/

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

